That Which Comes After - Alexis Pope (Preorder)

That Which Comes After - Alexis Pope (Preorder)

10.00 12.00

I AM HERE WITH YOU & YOU ARE TOO QUIET TO IGNORE

114 Pages
5.8 x 8.3
ISBN: 978-1-941985-43-4
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018

Like a geyser that has been reticent for far too long, Alexis Pope's That Which Comes After erupts. These urgent & irreverent poems about motherhood, depression, anxiety, and status updates weave together to form one grandiose Mediation on growing into adulthood in the midst of a toxic relationship. In the vein of Eileen Myles and Anne Carson, That Which Comes After is a book that changes books, pointing us towards the immense immediacy of torment, of tenderness, and—ultimately—of rebirth.

Quantity:
Add To Cart
The voice of her generation
— Jenny Boully

PRAISE FOR THAT WHICH COMES AFTER

"That Which Comes After is an electric high-speed cascade system of close-in perception trading lines with blunt assessment so as to speak from the gauntlet of experience and expose its current scale of crazed happening. Reading it is like having the painter Pat Steir’s waterfalls turned into live absorption machines made of incredibly tough lines that cut and go as musical notation. Alexis Pope has written a long poem made of poems that foreground strings of momentary abjection in order to make plain how much the poet sees and takes and deals with – and from. It’s a tremendously lived-in, spare and unsparing work of power and skill, made to unsettle so many assumptions the average, intimate 'you' makes."

—Anselm Berrigan, Primitive State

"Alexis Pope isn't afraid of the void or hunger, of the dead end as a dead end, of the incomplete and unfulfilled. She'll show it to you and then take you elsewhere, to a small something that is bigger than what we can ever know. It's this commingling of intense desire and infinitesimal reminders that living is real that made me ache and want to devour more and more of these poems that aren't afraid to let anything go, because the poet knows so clearly just how everything ends well before one is ready for that ending. Alexis Pope is the voice of her generation. These are the poems that will tell the true and important and lasting messages of her times."

—Jenny Boully, Not Merely Because of the Unknown That Was Stalking Toward Them

"Alexis Pope’s latest book is an archive of the I as changed by the other in the gorgeous vertical latticework of the commonplace life, “the “colorless seams” that define the infinite exchanges between the material world and our interiorities.  Pope’s bits of attention accumulate and accrue into the wonder of That Which Comes After, a meditative and airy contemplation on embodiment and connection."

—Carmen Giménez Smith, Milk and Filth

 

-